Day: December 9, 2013

A morning after this night

A medley of thoughts A song which was sung before A time that always stands still, But I know there is a morning to this night. A fight between now & then A struggle of heart over mind, There exists a morning to this night. I am a phoenix a-rise from ashes, A new dawn and I bath in the shining water of rays I always knew there is a morning after this night.     P.S -The poetry is about the highs and lows of life. When we hit a bump we undergo emotions, which have been experienced before. We fail to recognise that better times await once we are through with this night of confusion and despair. The morning here is synonymous to the “better times” and night to the time of hopelessness. I clicked the above picture when i was out for a jog, on a cold foggy morning, in Pune. The scene created by the rising sun amidst the silhouettes of coconut trees found an apt connection to my poetry!

In search of identity (How is it to be born to parents of two different religions)

“Imagine there’s no countries It isn’t hard to do Nothing to kill or die for And no religion too Imagine all the people Living life in peace…”   These words from the beautiful John Lennon poetry reminisce my story while growing up. I am born to parents who follow separate religions, my father is a Hindu and my mother is a Christian. This fact when stated makes few mumble in amusement and makes few smirk, pitying my loss of identity or my lost sense of belongingness to a particular community or clan. Since a very early age, I was exposed to two completely different cultures and ways of living. One where eating pork was no big deal and the other where there were selective non-vegetarians and few (from the older generation) whose eyes popped out on hearing “eggs” and grew as large as the size of an omelet (in utter shock)! But this mush up liberated my mind. It made me open to different people, different backgrounds and different tastes. It made me look at a …