Day: February 14, 2015

10 best pictures and anecdotes from my Solo trip to Kumaon

Though it’s been six months since I got back from my first solo leisure trip, the memories of the journey are still afresh. It feels as if I have just set my foot back in Pune from the serene and beautiful Kumaon. I was so overwhelmed with my trip that I could not find the right way to re-share my experience until now. So here is my travel story from the foothills of Himalaya, in 10 best pictures and anecdotes: The quaint little town of Bhimtal and its hardworking women: My stay in Kumaon further validated my impression about women in small towns and villages. They are the unsung heroes who earn a living, take care of household chores and yet look so stunning, brimming with energy. Light pale skin, boxed faces and unadulterated smile is how I remember them from Kumaon. Meet Prema and Hema, two farmers from Bhimtal, who were diligently sowing seeds while I was strolling in their paddy field. It was about sunset. The duo pleasantly looked up when I called …